Member login

Australian Academy Annouces First Award Winners

Previous : Next

The inaugural Samsung AACTA Awards Luncheon, presented by Digital Pictures, was held today at Sydney's Westin Hotel, marking the first Award winners to be announced by the Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts (AACTA).

Presenters at the event included film and television favourites Rhada Mitchell, Rebecca Gibney and Susie Porter, internationally renowned directors such as Bruce Beresford and Fred Schepisi and entertaining Oscar® winner Adam Elliott, to name a few. The event was hosted by acclaimed actress Sigrid Thornton.

The Samsung AACTA Awards Luncheon, presented by Digital Pictures, recognised the talent and innovation of artists and craftspeople working across the television, documentary, short fiction film, short animation and feature film categories.

The prestigious AACTA Raymond Longford Award, the nation's highest screen accolade, was presented to Australian cinematography legend, Donald M. McAlpine (ACS/ASC), accompanied by moving and insightful tributes from director Bruce Beresford, and long time friend and colleague Jack Thompson.

Filmmaker Ivan Sen was presented with the Byron Kennedy Award, which celebrates outstanding creative enterprise within the film and television industries and is given to an individual or organisation whose work embodies innovation and the relentless pursuit of excellence.

Video highlights and photographs from the Luncheon will be available at from Thursday 19 January.

AACTA's inaugural awards season will culminate with the spectacular Samsung AACTA Awards Ceremony at the Sydney Opera House on 31 January 2012, which will be broadcast around Australia on the Nine Network.

A limited number of tickets are still available - to purchase tickets, click here


Previous : Next

© 2021 Australian Cinematographers Society
Web design ToadShow