Member login

SA and WA

2014 SA & WA 34th Annual State Awards for Cinematography

This year the 34th Annual ACS SA & WA Awards for Cinematography will be held @ 6pm on Saturday November 1 at the Hotel Grand Chancellor in Adelaide.

Our Awards theme this year is the Magic of Cinematography and will be held in Adelaide on November 1. It promises to be a great night so reserve the date in your diary.

I am very pleased to announce our Guest of Honour - our very own, talented and magical Tony Clark ACS from RSP.

It will be great to have Jane Doyle back on stage as our MC and we have confirmed the magical Matt Tarrant who will be on stage and amaze us later in the night. Also we'll have "Luke the Piano Dude" playing magical theme tracks from heaps of movies.

Ticket Sales opened online September 22 and close October 24 $110 inc GST. Click the link below to book your tickets now.

Online entries closed on September 5 with 140 entries!

2013 SA & WA 33rd Annual State Awards for Cinematography Wrap Up & Winners

Almost 100 guests enjoyed the 33rd Annual ACS SA & WA Awards for Cinematography which were held on Saturday November 2 at the Hotel Grand Chancellor in Adelaide.

Our Guest of Honour was 4 times Australian Cinematographer of the Year (Milli Award) winner Peter James ACS ASC, and our MC was the very funny comedian George Kapiniaris and music by Ellie Foster.

National President Ron Johanson ACS presented Malcolm Ludgate ACS with a well deserved Life Membership and Daniel Soekov was presented his Accreditation certificate #347 and his Accreditation pin.

The Special Awards on the night were:

Milton Ingerson Award for the Best Entry:
Geoff Hall ACS for Drift

News Directors Award:
Dan Soekov ACS for Christmas Island Detention
Winning Network - Aljeezera English

Cliff Ellis Award to a promising young Cinematographer:
Michael Tessari for Isis

MRC $3,000 Student Encouragement Prize:
Aaron Kleemann for Chrysalis

Click the link below for a complete list of winners.

2012 SA & WA 32nd Annual State Awards for Cinematography Wrap Up & Winners

The 32nd Annual SA & WA State Awards for Cinematography were held in Adelaide at the Hotel Grand Chancellor on Hindley on Saturday October 27. The theme for the night was Shadowcatchers with a special appearance from Gill Lard (aka the wonderful Karen Hayward from Qld) and live music from All About Her and an appearance from the Shadowdancers.

There were fabulous door prizes of ACS Shadowcatchers books as well as various excellent door prizes from our National Sponsors.

We trialled a new format with pre dinner drinks & finger food from 6 to 6:45pm, followed by theatre style awards presentation, then into the next room for main meal with wine, beer, etc and live music from All About Her. Then a lounge area opened up with Bond style Shadowdancers, a dessert buffett, more live music and a few more quiet drinks.

Jo Rossiter ACS was shocked when he won the Milton Ingerson Award for the Best Entry for his cinematography on the short film "Sleight of Hand"; especially as there was much subterfuge, as Jo normally puts the winner's name plaque on this perpetual trophy.

The Cliff Ellis Award for the Active member showing the most promise went to an extremely chuffed Ben Dowie.

Brant Cumming won the News Directors Award for the best news story as well as winning a swag of other awards.

The $3,000 MRC prize to a promising young filmmaker was awarded to the talented Sam Cherry.

Richard Malins ACS from Western Australia was presented with a well deserved Life Membership by National President Ron Johanson ACS.

SA and WA Special Awards

The Milton Ingerson Award for Best Entry

The Milton Ingerson Award for the Best Entry was first awarded in 2005. This perpetual trophy recognises the most outstanding entry and is a lasting memorial to the legacy of Milton Ingerson ACS OAM. Milton reluctantly agreed to this award being named after him only months before he passed away. This award replaced our original Award for the Best Entry. At each awards the past winner is presented a framed photograph of the Milton Ingerson Award with a brass plaque stating their name and the Title of the winning entry.

The Cliff Ellis Memorial Award is presented to the Active Member showing the most potential. This award was named after Cliff Ellis, an ABC cameraman who delighted in training young members of our industry. This award was first presented in 1982 to Malcolm Ludgate.

The MRC Encouragement prize is a SA student encouragement award. The Media Resource Centre Award is for $3,000 worth of facilities/equipment hire to a South Australian Student entry. It began in 2008 and the winner also receives a Gold plaque from the ACS.

© 2014 Australian Cinematographers Society
Web design ToadShow